Friday, June 26, 2015

Press Release: [Nevada] Supreme Court Names Guardianship Commission Members

Nevada Appellate Courts/Administrative Office of the Courts


CONTACT: Michael S. Sommermeyer | (702) 486-3232

Supreme Court Names Guardianship Commission Members

Carson City, June 26, 2015 – Chief Justice James W. Hardesty has appointed 25 members of a Commission created by the Nevada Supreme Court in May to study guardianships in the state.

Between now and the end of December, the Commission to Study the Administration of Guardianships in Nevada's Courts will review the processes for creating guardianships and conservatorships in Nevada, stakeholder accountability, judicial training, court documentation and tracking, and any resources available or needed to assist Nevada's courts in administrating guardianships.

Chief Justice Hardesty will serve as chairperson and was authorized by the Supreme Court to appoint up to 30 Commission members who speak for the guardianship system. The Commission membership is as follows:


James W. Hardesty, Chief Justice

Nevada Supreme Court

Frances Doherty, Judge

Second Judicial District Court

Department 12

Cynthia Dianne Steel, Judge

Eighth Judicial District Court

Department G
Egan Walker, Judge

Second Judicial District Court

Department 2

Michael C. Sprinkle, Assemblyman

Nevada Legislature

Trudy Andrews

Pacifica Senior Living

Deborah Bookout

Legal Aid of Southern Nevada

Rana Goodman

The Vegas Voice

Jay P. Raman

Clark County District Attorney’s Office

Terri Russell

KOLO Channel 8

Kim Spoon

Guardianship Services of Nevada, Inc.

Susan Sweikert

Victim’s Advocate

Michael Gibbons, Chief Judge

Nevada Court of Appeals

Nancy Porter, Judge

Fourth Judicial District Court

Department 1

William Voy, Judge

Eighth Judicial District

Department A

Becky Harris, Senator

Nevada Legislature

Glenn E. Trowbridge, Assemblyman

Nevada Legislature

Julie Arnold

Southern Nevada Senior Law Program

Kathleen Buchanan

Clark County Public Guardian

Susan Hoy

National Guardian Services, LLC

Kim Rowe

Maupin, Cox, and Legoy

David Spitzer

Washoe Legal Services

Timothy Sutton

Nye County District Attorney’s Office

Elyse Tyrell

Private Attorney

Ex Officio Member

Christine Smith

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

William S. Boyd School of Law

The first meeting of the Commission is expected to be held in mid-July. Commission members will listen to public testimony, write proposed rules, and develop a new model for Nevada guardianships within Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter (NRS) 159 and court rules, policies, and procedures.

The Commission is expected to make its recommendations to the Supreme Court by December 31, 2015.


Michael S. Sommermeyer
Office of Public Information
Administrative Office of the Courts
Supreme Court of Nevada
200 Lewis Avenue, 17th Floor
Las Vegas, NV, 89101-6204
Phone: 702/486-3232
Mobile: 702/727-6731
Fax: 702/486-3877


StandUp said...

Rana Goodman? HOORAY!

Connie said...

Congratulations Nevada families... RANA GOODMAN's on the committee!

Sylvia Rudek said...